Fishing Clothing Review: TFG Eskimo Second Skin Trousers And Top

Fishing Clothing Review: TFG Eskimo Second Skin Trousers And Top


Free Online Articles Directory




Why Submit Articles?
Top Authors
Top Articles
FAQ
ABAnswers

Publish Article

0 && $.browser.msie ) {
var ie_version = parseInt($.browser.version);
if(ie_version Login


Login via


Register
Hello
My Home
Sign Out

Email

Password


Remember me?
Lost Password?

Home Page > Sports and Fitness > Fishing > Fishing Clothing Review: TFG Eskimo Second Skin Trousers And Top

Fishing Clothing Review: TFG Eskimo Second Skin Trousers And Top

Edit Article |

Posted: Nov 11, 2010 |



It’s November as I sit here writing this and I’ve just got back from a quick fishing session in the first real chill of the winter. Crikey, it was cold when I got up!

As I slipped on my thermal fishing gear, it dawned on me that I’d owned the TF Gear Eskimo Second Skin trousers and top for quite some time, and I vowed to dig out my original review of them when I got home.

The piece below was written in January 2008 about some thermal clothing that I first got my hands on in 2007. It’s 2010 now, so I’ve had these items for nearly four years. As an ‘outdoor’ type person, my outdoor gear gets worn a lot. The fact that they have lasted so long is a real testament to the quality of them.

Here’s the original review (January, 2008):
*****
DON’T WORRY – I’m not about to subject you to the sight of a tubby bloke in skin tight leggings. This is a family fishing website and I don’t want to be responsible for mass-vomiting on keyboards. I’ll stick with a catalogue shot and let your imagination do the rest!

 

I’ve mentioned in previous reviews that I often use items designed for anglers in other areas of my life. I’ve also mentioned before that I own a dog. Therefore, I’ll bore you all again by saying that I’m a dog-owning angler who uses some of his fishing gear for other purposes….and that the Eskimo Second Skin Trousers from the Matt Hayes Total Fishing Gear (TFG) range are one of those items!

These black thermal under-trousers cling to the skin, keeping a very small warm layer of air close to the skin. In a way, they look and work a little bit like a wetsuit, but without the water! They’re also made of a lot more comfortable material and are easy to get on and off! I’ll post the technical details below this review, as posting them here would make it look like I’d performed loads of scientific tests and research, which I haven’t done. Instead, I’ve worn these trousers a LOT and am speaking from my own experience.

 

As soon as you put the TFG Eskimo Second Skin Trousers on, you feel warm. You look a bit like a wannabe Ninja, but this is soon resolved by putting your normal trousers on over the top. Once that’s done, you can forget about them.

 

I’ve worn these trousers in extremely cold conditions for over a year now and have never felt that my legs are cold in them. They do exactly what they’re supposed to do and have survived numerous trips to the washing machine.

 

When overnight carp fishing, they are great to wear in your sleeping bag. Coupled with the TFG Eskimo Second Skin top, they’re a perfect combination at night. I have to say that, although I own a top and use it on occasion (especially at night), I haven’t needed it so much during the day, as most of my windproof fleeces and other tops provide adequate warmth. It’s hand to have at hand, though, as it really does provide instant warmth.

 

Both the Eskimo trousers and top take up very little room. They’re almost like underwear in design, so are well worth having tucked away in your rucksack if you’re doing a long session. If you’re a day angler, I’d certainly recommend the trousers. The top would be handy if you prefer mobility – you won’t need to wear the number of layers that I usually wear when fishing!

 

I’ve worn the TFG Eskimo Second Skin trousers and top not just when out carp fishing and when walking the dog, but also when fishing from beaches and out on a boat. Trust me, those conditions can be a lot more demanding than when fishing inshore and these products have never let me down.

 

The RRP of both the top and trousers is £24.95. However, at the time of writing, TackleBargains have them at just £12.24 each.

Elton Murphy, AnglersNet.co.uk – January, 2008

*****

I’ve just checked and, nearly four years on, you can still get these at the prices quoted above, along with a lot of other quality thermal stuff. Try this link to see a lot of thermal fishing clothing in the UK:

http://www.anglersnet.co.uk/prices/thermals

Even if you are reading this outside the UK and can’t afford to get stuff shipped to your home country from the UK, I’d advise you to find something similar locally. Being warm when fishing makes you a happier angler, and a happy angler is usually a better angler!

Tight lines,

Elton

Retrieved from “http://www.articlesbase.com/fishing-articles/fishing-clothing-review-tfg-eskimo-second-skin-trousers-and-top-3650221.html

(ArticlesBase SC #3650221)

Start increasing your traffic today just by submitting articles with us, click here to get started.
Liked this article? Click here to publish it on your website or blog, it’s free and easy!

Elton Murphy
About the Author:

Elton Murphy is the founder and Editor of http://www.AnglersNet.co.uk, one of the UK’s leading online fishing magazines.
A keen all-round angler, his main areas of interest are sea fishing and carp fishing. He is also the Editor of Carp Fishing Secrets ( http://www.carpfishingsecrets.com/ ) and owns a number of other angling websites.

Questions and Answers


Ask our experts your Fishing related questions here…

Ask

200 Characters left

I had a mole removed from a breast in 2003. Now, a pink-skin coloured one has appeared at the same spot and seems to have grown. The itching may be caused by clothes rubbing it. Should I be concerned?
Does fish oil help with dry skin ?
I have oily skin so can i use this second point of fairness


Rate this Article

1
2
3
4
5

vote(s)
0 vote(s)

Feedback
RSS
Print
Email
Re-Publish

Source:  http://www.articlesbase.com/fishing-articles/fishing-clothing-review-tfg-eskimo-second-skin-trousers-and-top-3650221.html

Article Tags:
carp, fishing, thermal, clothing, matt hayes

Related Videos

Latest Fishing Articles
More from Elton Murphy


Jammin’ Salmon Burgers

Aaron makes salmon burgers and tops them with his tangy dill mayonnaise. (03:21)



Dan Hernandez Top Fishing Tips

Sport fishing tips and help by Dan Hernandez, this video focuses on Dan Hernandez fishing tips. (01:36)


How to Make a Fly Fishing Rod – the Tip Top

Join Bennett-Watt and learn how to make a fly fishing rod with focus on fitting the tip top. (03:47)


Alison Barratt on the Fish We Should Be Eating

t would not be hard to imagine the impact on the land?s ecosystems, if humans mostly hunted wolves, and other predators for food at the top of the food chain. As Alison Barratt, from the Monterey Bay Aquarium Seafood Watch program informs us, that is precisely what we do when we fish for tuna, salmon and other top predators of the sea. (02:12)


Top 5 Things to Do in Hong Kong

Sam tours a historic fishing village, sees a spectacular light show and more. (01:14)

Hunting & Fishing in the Great Outdoors

Luke Clayton loves to get away from it all in his outdoor oasis. On this remote piece of land, Luke can fish the deep springs for catfish, bass, and crappie. He can hunt deer, ducks and hogs in the woods adjacent the 40 or so acres of water. And whatever he does, he trusty NuCanoe is sure to be a part of his adventure.

By:
Walker Wildl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Mar 03, 2011

Using Top Japanese Largemouth Bass Fishing Lures

Today I’m going to pull back the curtain on some killer Japanese bass lures that can give you an inside edge on catching bass. No matter what the conditions are like in your area… I bet you can find a lure and a technique that will create one of those “magical” days of fishing we all dream about….

By:
david townleyl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Mar 01, 2011

Fly Fishing GuideBook Review

While I very first ran across this amazing fishing useful resource, my initial ideas had been, ol no ?- not one more replica of the way to boost my fly fishing capabilities to land the trophy fish of my dreams. You realize the tale. Anyhow in opposition to my greater judgment I bought the useful resource and from 1 fisherman towards the other, I am glad I did.

By:
Alan34 Jenksl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Feb 28, 2011

My Ice Fishing Tips Torrent

Ice fishing for bluegill can be a really well-known wintertime exercise for getting outdoors and stretching your legs. Listed here are some tips to get a blast catching bluegill to the ice. The tackle and gear is getting far more advanced each and every 12 months as well as the time invested out to the ice could be extremely motion packed and entertaining.

By:
Alan34 Jenksl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Feb 28, 2011

My Ice Fishing Tips Review – Scam or Any Good?

Ice Fishing Tips is really a activity which has been expanding in reputation lately. That is because of a lot much more media exposure. You’ll find now web sites, magazines, as well as tv reveals committed to this kind if fishing. What helps make it exclusive is, as its identify implies, you might be actually fishing via the ice.

By:
Alan34 Jenksl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Feb 28, 2011

Fishing the chesterfield canal fishing i love fishing peaceful fishing

The Chesterfield Canal is widely recognised as one of the most beautiful and varied waterways in England. It runs for 46 miles from the River Trent to the middle of Chesterfield, linking Nottinghamshire, South Yorkshire and Derbyshire. Every yard of the canal can be walked on the towpath known as The Cuckoo Way. It goes through tranquil countryside where scarcely a house can be seen; has some of the earliest staircase locks ever built (240 years ago); is hugely popular with walker

By:
J O’Neilll

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Feb 27, 2011

Choosing The Best Tactical Folder – What Should You Look For?

If you are trying to decide what kind of tactical folder to buy, there are some things you must consider. Knowing what your ultimate goal is for carrying a folding knife will help steer you in the right direction when making your decision. Although you may end up making more than one purchase over time, you want to make sure you buy what is appropriate for you.

By:
Josh Stevensl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Feb 24, 2011

Homemade Carp Fishing Baits With Irresistible Rose And Sweet Rosehip Flavours!

Many anglers know about the great success of using alternative flavours and in particular natural flavours rich in bioactive components that turn fish on! Here are some unique suggestions on how to create your own rose and rosehip flavour baits and to reap loads of sweet rewards in cold water or warmer conditions!

By:
Tim Richardsonl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Feb 24, 2011

Fishing Boots – How To Choose The Perfect Boot

Angling has come quite a way over the last decade or two. I remember when the only real choice for footwear when going fishing was a pair of Wellingtons, Doc’s, or something ex military. Nowadays, you can’t move for choice, but which ones should you buy?

By:
Elton Murphyl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Dec 16, 2010

Short Session Carp Fishing Explained; How To Stalk Carp

Not everyone has a whole week to spend carp fishing. This carp fishing article article explains how to get the best out of a few hours, by stalking carp.

By:
Elton Murphyl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Nov 15, 2010

How To Go Carp Fishing At Night

Night fishing for carp is extremely effective. These wary fish often drop their guard in the hours of darkness. With a bit of preparation, you can be a fully-accomplished night time carp angler.

By:
Elton Murphyl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Nov 15, 2010

How To Choose The Right Carp Fishing Venue

This carp fishing article explains how, just like fishing itself, a little bit of forethought and research can pay dividends before you fish anew carp venue.

By:
Elton Murphyl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Nov 15, 2010

How Much Carp Bait Should I Throw In?

It’s the age-old question; do you throw in loads of boilies before you start carp fishing, or is it best to be a bit less extravagant with your carp bait?

By:
Elton Murphyl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Nov 15, 2010

Carp Fishing Holidays On eBay

Carp fishing holidays can be fun. This article explains some of the pros and cons of buying a carp fishing holiday from the eBay website.

By:
Elton Murphyl

Sports and Fitness>
Fishingl
Nov 06, 2010

Submit

Your Articles Here
It’s Free and easy

Sign Up Today


Author Navigation

My Home
Publish Article
View/Edit Articles
View/Edit Q&A
Edit your Account
Manage Authors
Statistics Page
Personal RSS Builder
My Home
Edit your Account
Update Profile
View/Edit Q&A
Publish Article
Author Box


Elton Murphy has 7 articles online

Contact Author

Subscribe to RSS

Print article

Send to friend

Re-Publish article

Articles Categories
All Categories

Advertising
Arts & Entertainment
Automotive
Beauty
Business
Careers
Computers
Education
Finance
Food and Beverage
Health
Hobbies
Home and Family
Home Improvement
Internet
Law
Marketing
News and Society
Relationships
Self Improvement
Shopping
Spirituality
Sports and Fitness
Technology
Travel
Writing

Sports and Fitness

Aerobics
Archery
Baseball
Basketball
Bodybuilding
Cricket
Equestrian
Equipment
Extreme Sports
Fishing
Fitness
Football
Golf
Hockey
Horse Racing
Martial Arts
Muscle Building
Outdoor Sports
Pilates
Rugby
Scuba Diving
Self Defense
Soccer
Tennis
Track and Field
Water Sports
Weight Loss
Yoga

Need Help?
Contact Us
FAQ
Submit Articles
Editorial Guidelines
Blog

Site Links
Recent Articles
Top Authors
Top Articles
Find Articles
Site Map
Mobile Version

Webmasters
RSS Builder
RSS
Link to Us

Business Info
Advertising

Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms Of Use and Privacy Policy | User published content is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
Copyright © 2005-2011 Free Articles by ArticlesBase.com, All rights reserved.

Elton Murphy is the founder and Editor of http://www.AnglersNet.co.uk, one of the UK’s leading online fishing magazines.
A keen all-round angler, his main areas of interest are sea fishing and carp fishing. He is also the Editor of Carp Fishing Secrets ( http://www.carpfishingsecrets.com/ ) and owns a number of other angling websites.

If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!